Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
problems wen I disconnect serial — Parallax Forums

problems wen I disconnect serial

kevintherobotkevintherobot Posts: 3
edited 2010-04-09 16:20 in BASIC Stamp
hello,

I am building a robot as a yearproject, I am using a basic stamp (bs2).
I have made the programme for my robot and it works but everytime I disconnect the serial cable from my PCB the basic stamp doesn't do wat I want.

On one input I am using a switch, when the computer is connected he does everything correct when i use this switch, when there is no computer connected he doesn't wait for the switch to do something else. I am confused and I can't find a way to solve this problem.

kevin

Comments

  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-04-07 17:38
    As with any question like yours, you have to provide more information since the Stamps are designed to work the way you describe (either connected to a PC or working on their own) without changing the program. Please attach a schematic and a source file for your program. Use the "Post Reply" button and you'll see a button for the "Attachment Manager" which will allow you to attach files to one of your messages. Use some kind of drawing program for the schematic or draw one by hand and scan it in, then attach a JPG or PDF file of it.
  • kevintherobotkevintherobot Posts: 3
    edited 2010-04-07 18:36
    I can give you the programme I have made for my robot but for the schematics it's not so simple, the PCB is made out of 3 sections so I don't have a schematic of all three together.

    here is the programme:

    ' {$STAMP BS2}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}

    DEBUG "Program Running!" ,CR, CRSRUP

    '---[noparse][[/noparse] Variables ]

    irDetectLeft VAR Bit
    irDetectRight VAR Bit
    pulseCount VAR Byte


    '---[noparse][[/noparse]Initialization]---

    IF IN7 = 1 THEN 'this is just for the show
    DO

    HIGH 0
    HIGH 14
    LOW 1
    LOW 15
    PAUSE 250
    HIGH 1
    HIGH 15
    HIGH 0
    HIGH 14
    PAUSE 250
    LOW 0
    LOW 14
    HIGH 1
    HIGH 15
    PAUSE 250
    LOW 0
    LOW 15
    LOW 1
    LOW 14
    PAUSE 250
    LOOP UNTIL IN7 = 0
    ENDIF
    '---[noparse][[/noparse] Main Routine ]


    IF IN7 = 0 THEN
    DO 'this is the actuall programme

    FREQOUT 3, 1, 38500
    irDetectLeft = IN4

    FREQOUT 12, 1, 38500
    irDetectRight = IN11




    IF (irDetectLeft = 0) AND (irDetectRight = 0) THEN
    GOSUB Back_Up
    GOSUB Turn_Right
    ELSEIF (irDetectLeft = 0) THEN
    GOSUB Turn_Right
    ELSEIF (irDetectRight = 0) THEN
    GOSUB Turn_Left
    ELSE
    GOSUB Forward_Pulse
    ENDIF


    '---[noparse][[/noparse] Subroutines ]----

    Forward_Pulse:
    LOW 0
    LOW 14
    HIGH 1
    HIGH 15

    PULSOUT 13, 1000
    PULSOUT 2, 500
    PAUSE 20
    RETURN

    Turn_Left:

    LOW 14
    LOW 15
    HIGH 0
    HIGH 1

    FOR pulseCount = 0 TO 40
    PULSOUT 13, 850
    PULSOUT 2, 850
    PAUSE 20
    NEXT

    RETURN

    Turn_Right:

    LOW 0
    LOW 1
    HIGH 14
    HIGH 15

    FOR pulseCount = 0 TO 40
    PULSOUT 13, 650
    PULSOUT 2, 650
    PAUSE 20
    NEXT

    RETURN
    Back_Up:
    LOW 0
    LOW 1
    LOW 14
    LOW 15
    HIGH 14
    HIGH 0

    FOR pulseCount = 0 TO 20
    PULSOUT 13, 650
    PULSOUT 2, 850
    PAUSE 20
    NEXT
    RETURN


    LOOP UNTIL IN7 = 1
    ENDIF


    in the programme IN7 is the switch
    13 and 2 are servos
    and 0,1,14 and 15 are LEDS

    so when I disconnect the serial cable he doesn't look after IN7 anymore, he does the main routine or the initialization through each other, there is no more order.

    I have searched the internet after schematics and I have found someting that could maybe be the problem, does the VSS of the serial cable (pin on the BS2) need to be connected to the other VSS pin on the basic stamp?

    kevin
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2010-04-07 20:11
    Yes, Sir. All grounds must be tied together.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·"If you build it, they will come."
  • rixterrixter Posts: 95
    edited 2010-04-07 21:23
    Kevin,

    Also may want to check how your switch is connected. Are you pulling them up or down to keep the input at pin 7 from floating?

    rick
  • kevintherobotkevintherobot Posts: 3
    edited 2010-04-09 16:20
    I have connected the VSS of the serial cable with the other VSS and the problem is still the same.

    I don't think the switch is connected badly, I have connected it the way the manuals of Basic Stamp say how to connect it.
Sign In or Register to comment.