Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Button array?? — Parallax Forums

Button array??

nisbusnisbus Posts: 46
edited 2010-04-10 15:28 in General Discussion
Hi,

I'm new to electronics and would like to build something like the following image on a breadboard.

N2i5oew2L9gPVFBpuBgQAA?feat=directlink
image link

I don't mind creating a smaller grid (2x2) for just getting the theory of it but I really don't understand the image (got it from a Tips and tricks pdf for PIC microchips.)

I have some tactile buttons to play with but I just don't understand the drawing.
I also have the propeller protoboard and an extra breadboard for testing.

Can someone please help me get this thing going on a breadboard (pictures would be nice)?

Any help would be really appreciated.

What I don't get is that each button has one line running to it while my switches have 4 legs (I realize that it's legs are paired).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Thanks,
nisbus

Comments

• John AbshierJohn Abshier Posts: 1,116
    edited 2010-04-06 01:07
    It looks like it is determining what button is pressed by measuring the voltage on the input pin. You will have to either use 2 pins with the Propeller or use an Analog to Digital Chip. When you press a button you allow current to flow through one of the resistors on the top row and one of the resistors on the left. These two resistors form the top half of a voltage divider. The resistor connected to ground is the bottom half of the voltage divider. Selection of the values of the resistors is key. At least that is what I think it is doing

John Abshier
  • nisbusnisbus Posts: 46
    edited 2010-04-06 09:18
    That's exactly what I'm trying to do.

The problem is that I don't understand the drawing compared to a tactile switch and I don't know what kind of resistor I should be using on either end.

I would like to be able to use the VDD on the protoboard (3.3v).

I'd just like to see this work using a meter before I plug it into the propeller.