Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Ultrasonic parking alert using basic stamp — Parallax Forums

Ultrasonic parking alert using basic stamp

fearfactorymetalfearfactorymetal Posts: 1
edited 2010-04-03 02:50 in BASIC Stamp
Hello.· im new to basic stamps.· Im wanting to use the basic stamp with ultrasonic sensors to sense a wall.· when the sensor senses the wall about 3 meters out i want a speaker to have a pulsed chirp.· the closer the object the faster the chirps.·· has anyone experimented with this type of setup?· any information would be greatly appreciated...

thanks
vic

Comments

• hover1hover1 Posts: 1,929
    edited 2010-03-31 18:05
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2010-03-31 21:28
    Here's·a cheaper & simpler option,· a $12·Ultrasonic sensor from China that doesn't even need a Stamp for a simple yes/no LED indicator, you could have it turn an LED on or off at a preset distance:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Ultrasound-Motion-Sensor-for-Robotic-Basic-Stamp-New_W0QQitemZ110511230652QQcmdZ

I just ordered one. It has a digital output (normally high, active low) when triggered. You can adjust the range to·one of 16 distances .3-10 M. There is a different ·version with a range from .3 to 3 M.

attachment.php?attachmentid=74098

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·"If you build it, they will come."
    393 x 236 - 3K
  • PlitchPlitch Posts: 39
    edited 2010-04-01 17:50
    This project seems fairly simple.· I use a post mounted ultrasonic sensor aimed down at a piece of plywood to measure the depth of snow.· The sensor I use (SensComp #616105) has an output of 0 - 10 volts depending on distance (up to 20 feet).· If you use a MAX1270 analog to digital converter, this voltage can be converted to a digital value, and that value can be used to set a frequency for the beep.