Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
how to control a high voltage stuff with microcontroller — Parallax Forums

how to control a high voltage stuff with microcontroller

m_ghv_geom_ghv_geo Posts: 6
edited 2010-04-01 06:53 in BASIC Stamp
hi all i goat my first microcontroller yesterday as a learning kit at radio shack it is called parallax basic stamp bc-2 item # 90005
i was playing, discovering and learning with it a few days but know am and up with tons of questions

first question is how can i control lets say a 120v lamp with it eyes.gif ?

next question is this thing only has 9 volt Battery sou its max output is 9 volts lets say i want to control a few 12 volt motors with it how can i do that?

i can figure out by my own how to program but i need help to how to connect higher voltage stuff to microcontroller?

blush.gif please go easy on me i am new in this microcontroller world

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-03-31 05:19
    1) An ordinary 9V battery cannot put out enough current for a motor more than for a few minutes. It simply doesn't have the capacity. You need an adequate power supply.

2) Nuts and Volts Column #6 discusses how to control higher voltages and higher currents using a Stamp I/O pin. Download it from Parallax and read it.

3) Controlling any kind of AC device is potentially very dangerous. You need to know what you're doing. For 120VAC devices up to a few Amps, you can use an appropriate relay or SSR (Solid State Relay). Parallax makes an Industrial Control Board that provides for several such relays. EFX-TEK also has a Solid State Relay board. Using either one is still potentially very dangerous. You can get killed.
  • m_ghv_geom_ghv_geo Posts: 6
    edited 2010-03-31 06:46
    thanks for second answer i will try to find it
    it would been good if you wrote a direct link to that page thx any way
    edited 2010-03-31 07:02