Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp 2 Reading Serial Data — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp 2 Reading Serial Data

LWLW Posts: 8
edited 2010-03-29 18:05 in BASIC Stamp
Hi im Very New to this so any help apreciated.

I have a piece of test equipment that has a pic Controller inside. the Pic sends out serial data as soon as its connected and continues to send the same serial data untill its powered off.

I want to send the serial data from the Pic to the stamp and have the stamp display the data on the pc screen and later on a lcd display. Im not sure in what format the serial data is but i think its just 4 numbers.
and ideas welcombe

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-03-28 17:48
    Where does the pic send the data and how will you connect to it? What level is the data (TTL or RS232)? Read the section of the manual on SERIN and SEROUT for some ideas.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • bill190bill190 Posts: 769
    edited 2010-03-28 19:34
    Also might want to search google.com for the words...

Asynchronous serial communication
  • LWLW Posts: 8
    edited 2010-03-28 20:08
    Franklin said...
    Where does the pic send the data and how will you connect to it? What level is the data (TTL or RS232)? Read the section of the manual on SERIN and SEROUT for some ideas.

The piece of equipment has an output connector which is wired to one of the pic output pins. I have scanned the output with a scope and it looks like its TTL level.
    I now have the Pic and the Stamp mounted on a vero board running from the same supply and the data out from the pic is connected to Data pin 8 on the stamp.
    I can connect the scope to the data line and see data being transmitted but cannot read it.

I have spent two weeks on and off reading both the SERIN command and SEROUT commands and have still not managed to read any data from the pic.

Lynton
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-03-28 21:37