Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
project — Parallax Forums

project

james.fungjames.fung Posts: 4
edited 2010-03-25 16:26 in Accessories
hi guys,
Im new to this kind of stuff and i was hoping you guys could help

My project entails creating a device that cools IV fluid to 4 degrees C. I want to measure the temperature of this fluid and keep the fluid at 4C. So thus i was thinking of using a IR temp sensor with a feed back loop and alarm. The feed back loop would turn my power supply on and off depending on the temperature for regulation.

For example, my fluid rose from 4 C to 6 C, thus my device would turn on
fluid dropped from 4 to 2C my device would turn off
fluid rose to 10 C ( alarm would sound and would turn on)

However i don't exactly know what parts to get.

I was thinking of getting this:
MLX90614 Infrared Thermometer Module (90° FOV). I assume the BASIC Stamp 2 is the microprocessor?
How do i load My program to this micro processor?
What other parts do i need to buy?
What would be a good alarm, and LED display(to show temp of fluid at all times)?

Ps. please don't assume i know anything... because i don't..

Thanks for all help in advance.

Comments

• LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2010-03-25 09:11
    How accurate does the temperature control have to be? You might need to use a PID controller.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Leon Heller
    Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
  • james.fungjames.fung Posts: 4
    edited 2010-03-25 15:06
    +- 4 degrees C. Do you think a PID is necessary given these requirements PID seems like it would increase my cost alot(+$40)? Im looking at

JLD7100 Temperature Controller

Specification
    Power:AC(85V~265V) or DC(85V~360V)
    Power consumption: 2Watt<
    Range:-1999~9999
    Sampling: 4/s
    Relay output AC220V, 3A
    Multiple sensor: T,R,J,B,S,K,E,Wre3 ~ Wre25 , PT100, Cu50
    Accuracy: 0.2%
    Dimension: DIN: 1/16 (48mmX24mmX75mm)
    Hole: 45mmx22mm
    edited 2010-03-25 15:08