Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I have a couple of questions — Parallax Forums

I have a couple of questions

ccakeccake Posts: 2
edited 2010-03-12 05:26 in BASIC Stamp
Hi All

I'm a newbie here.· I have a couple of questions about using Pics for counting and converting binary count to BCD.· I'm kinda new to these Pic processors.· I got a Basic Stamp Homework Board for Christmas. Have been going thru the book trying to learn.· Also have ordered a sampling of Picaxe chips too.· My Idea was to go to the mpu route for all my future bench test equipment projects.

My first project this year is a UHF Frequency Counter.· And I have already gotten the UHF pre-scaler (divide by 16) working.· But have been stumped trying to decide how to convert the Binary count from the prescalers back into Decimal.· Looks like regular logic ICs will require a bit of construction effort.

So my question is - can I use a pic (BS2 or Picaxe) to count down to 6-digits and convert the binary to BCD?

I want to use 6 each 7-segmant LED displays in the counter.

I kinda have an Idea what needs to be done, just need help in deciding which way to go and what hardware to use.

My initial design was to use discrete logic ICs for the counter, but I ran into a snag with the UHF prescaler. I had some trouble trying to convert the Binary count back into Decimal.· That got me to consider using either the BS2 or a Picaxe.

Any Ideas anyone?

Post Edited By Moderator (Joshua Donelson (Parallax)) : 3/12/2010 12:25:00 AM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-03-11 19:32
    A BS2 is not a PIC. The BS1 and BS2 Stamps use a PIC for their microprocessor, but both include a Basic interpreter and cannot be programmed in native PIC instructions. Other BS2 Stamp models use a different microprocessor entirely (the Scenix SX) which also can only be programmed in compiled Basic.