Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Making P30 high resets Propeller Demo board if USB is not connected ??? — Parallax Forums

Making P30 high resets Propeller Demo board if USB is not connected ???

BeanBean Posts: 8,129
edited 2010-03-10 22:15 in Propeller 1
On my demo board, if I make pin 30 high it resets the propeller chip.
I have a program that transmits data to the PC, but I need to run it without a PC too.

Is there any way to prevent this rebooting ?

To see the problem, load the attached program into the EEPROM.
When you turn on the demo board when it is connected to a PC all the LEDs will stay on.
If you are NOT connected to the PC they will flash as the propeller keeps getting reset.


PUB Main
  dira[noparse][[/noparse]23..16] := 255
  outa[noparse][[/noparse]23..16] := 255
 
  dira[noparse][[/noparse]30] := 1
  outa[noparse][[/noparse]30]:=1
 
  repeat



Bean.
·

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.

PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf


Post Edited (Bean) : 3/10/2010 3:55:58 PM GMT

Comments

  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2010-03-10 16:10
    @Bean

    Thanks for bringing this up!

    I saw this for the first time last night with one of my programs which uses the Parallax Serial Terminal object for debugging variables. I was starting to think I was going to have to do some bug hunting soon.

    OBC

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Coming soon to a browser near you! PropellerPowered.com
    Visit the: PROPELLERPOWERED SIG forum kindly hosted by Savage Circuits.
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-03-10 16:16
    I'm assuming it's actually the FTDI chip that is causing the reset.
    But I don't know ???

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.

    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    ·
  • John AbshierJohn Abshier Posts: 1,116
    edited 2010-03-10 16:16
    I can replicate the behavior.

    John Abshier
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-03-10 16:19
    I have found that if I wait until the RX pin (31) is high before I make pin 30 high, then my program will not reset.

    So I guess the RX pin stays low until it is connected to USB. This makes sense since a serial BREAK is the line held in the not-active state (which would be low). And a cable not connected would be considered a BREAK.

    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.

    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    ·
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-03-10 16:20
    Bean,
    There's a sneak path for power through the FTDI chip when there's no PC connected and that causes resets as you describe. The transmit signal from the Propeller ends up partially powering the FTDI chip and there's enough power to produce a reset pulse. Solutions include:

    1) Leave a PC connected

    2) Don't transmit through the FTDI chip if there's no PC there (leave pin 30 in input mode)

    3) Disconnect the reset line except when you're downloading to the Propeller

    4) There was one other solution involving a stiff pullup on the FTDI chip, but I don't remember the details.
  • hover1hover1 Posts: 1,929
    edited 2010-03-10 17:04
    As to #4. This is only one of the threads that I could find at the moment. I know there are one or two others.

    ·http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=847290

    Jim
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2010-03-10 22:01
    Wow! Thanks for bringing this up. I was going crazy yesterday trying to figure out why my Prop to Prop communication wouldn’t work without a USB cable attached to the Demo Board (I had debug statements sent to the computer).

    Duane
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2010-03-10 22:15
    This information ought to be included in the documentation of every board that does not include a buffer between the FTDI chip and the Prop or pullup(s) on A30 and/or A31 -- at least until those board designs can be fixed.

    -Phil
Sign In or Register to comment.