Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sensirion — Parallax Forums

Sensirion

Shining IvyShining Ivy Posts: 5
edited 2010-02-25 22:19 in Accessories
Hello I am new to the world of microcontrollers and this is my first posting on the forums. I am trying to make a environmental control system using the propeller chip, sensirion sensor, and a modified SensirionDemo to monitor then toggle an I/O pin to flip a relay, but I can't seen to understand the code that holds the value of humidity (or temp for that matter). I was thinking that if i declared a global variable and ran another cog to monitor that variable I could then have an "if" statement read the value and act accordingly, but apparently I don't know what I am doing. I have modified the display driver to work with the FullDuplexSerial because I dont have a TV. The code is attached. Any help would be very great.
Thanks

P.S. I have worked my way through the PE kit Lab and I am going back through it because obviously I need to.

Comments

• WBA ConsultingWBA Consulting Posts: 2,933
    edited 2010-02-25 01:21
    The Sensirion object works very nicely, but in my opinion is not a true "demo" because it lacks the details to explain how to use the object exactly how you mention. This Thread I started back in August stems from the frustration I had when trying to figure out what the code is doing in the Sensirion object so that i could do more with it. What I ended up doing was stepping through every word of the code and tracing what was going on in each object. For example:

rawTemp := f.FFloat(sht.readTemperature)

Has nothing for a comment. However, here's my note for this line of code:
    rawTemp equals the value returned by the readTemperature routine in the SHT (sensirion.spin) object after being formatted by the FFloat routine in the f (Float32.spin) object