Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which sensors can I use? — Parallax Forums

Which sensors can I use?

GlennERMAGlennERMA Posts: 3
edited 2010-02-26 13:42 in Accessories
Hello,

My name is Glenn Groeneveld and i'm a student Industrial Design in Holland.
For a project i want to automaticly·keep track on how many balls went into the (soccer)goal. (I'm doing an intern at a company which makes sport products).

I found·the X-band motion detector on this website, but al the specs are a bit overwhelming to me.
I just want to know if this device (or which sensor) can "see" the ball passing en sends out a signal to a (some kind of) scoreboard.

I was also thinking about an active infrared signal with a reciever, so that if the ball passes he crosses the beam and that is registered.

Can you help me with my·problem?

Thanks in advance,

Glenn·

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2010-02-24 15:10
    I don't think the X-band motion sensor would be suitable for this. It detects the motion of an object coming towards it. What you need is a sensor that can detect the ball crossing the line between the goal posts, and the only thing I can think of for that would be optical sensors. The light beams need to be close enough together to detect a soccer ball and there have to be enough of them to cover the goal area. On the plus side a soccer ball would only break one or two beams so if any more were broken that would be the goalie.
    edited 2010-02-24 15:13
    The other option would be a line scan sensor to detect the ball. Simpler hardware but more complex software.
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2010-02-24 19:01
    If this is real soccer you also need to differentiate between the ball and the goalie or other player/object.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • GlennERMAGlennERMA Posts: 3
    edited 2010-02-25 07:12
    Thanks for your reactions.

As it's being a training object, there is no goalie involved. So that won't be a problem.