Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
basic stamp as a D flip flop — Parallax Forums

basic stamp as a D flip flop

tedrobersontedroberson Posts: 8
edited 2011-04-01 19:50 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone.I'm new at programing,need all the help I can get.
Thanks.confused.gif
Can the bs2 be configered as a JK or D f/f?
Any info will be helpful.

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2010-02-20 16:38
    Making edge-triggered anything with a BS2 inevitably requires some compromise.
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,662
    edited 2010-02-20 18:58
    Why do you want to do that, tedroberson? Is it academic interest, or do you have a particular project in mind?

It is possible to simulate state machines in firmware on the BASIC Stamp, but their response will be slow, on the order of several milliseconds instead of less than 1 microsecond. Emphasis, it has to be done with firmware code, and is not like a PGA where you are configuring hardware gates.

D flip-flops in general have 6 i/o pins: D, Clock, Set, Reset, Q and Q\, so you might want to simulate the action of all those pins, or just a subset. A J-K flip flop only has 5 i/o pins, but the internal logic is more complicated, because levels on the J-K inputs simulate a D, T or SR flip-flop.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tracy Allen
    www.emesystems.com
  • tedrobersontedroberson Posts: 8
    edited 2010-02-25 16:12
    Thanks Tracy. Yes I do have a specific project in mind.

I've designed a·switching circuit that controls three relays,·using all discrete components.

I have a working prototype. I thought that by·using a microcontroller I could cut cost and

components.

At power up,my design defaults to out put 1, at this point I can randomely

push any switch (n/o mom.) and control any out put.

I don't have that flexibality with basis stamp,I can only· move· from 1-3 foward or reversed.

Due to the loops, I'm always locked in a sequential direction foward or backwards.