Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Have code running in background in Pbasic? — Parallax Forums

Have code running in background in Pbasic?

BrockBrock Posts: 2
edited 2010-02-19 02:31 in BASIC Stamp
I'm relatively new to Basic(1 week) and all programming I've ever done has been in c++ so i'm still learning some things. What I need is a section of code to be run in the "background" while the rest of the code
is running.

To give you a better idea, the processor is monitoring a pressure and battery voltage. When that voltage goes below a certain specified level, I want to have this LED blink(LED is on pin 13 of mcu). How do I incorporate that loop to run while the rest of the code runs? I see there is a POLLIN/POLLOUT commands that poll a pin after every line, but I am not polling the status of the pin, I would need to check the value of a variable then have a loop like

high 13
pause 1000
low 13

Thanks,

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-02-18 16:28
    The Stamps are "single threaded" processors. They cannot do something in the "background".

What you can do is to set up your main monitoring loop so that it takes roughly the same time to execute no matter what control path is taken and you use that as your "blink" timer instead of the PAUSE. Say that your main loop takes 100ms. You'd have a counter stored in a byte. If the byte is 255, you'd leave it alone otherwise you'd increment it with a wraparound at 20 back to zero. If the counter is less than 10, you'd turn the LED on. If the counter is 10 or higher, you'd turn the LED off.

To start the LED blinking, you'd set the counter to zero. To turn off the LED, you'd set the counter to 255.
  • BrockBrock Posts: 2
    edited 2010-02-18 16:48
    Thanks for the response Mike.

One question is why would I wraparound at 20?