Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
GPS on LCD display! — Parallax Forums

GPS on LCD display!

electrosyselectrosys Posts: 212
edited 2010-02-18 13:03 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone

I have a GPS·PMB-648 module,·Board of Education + BS2 & 4x20 LCD display,·(all from Parallax)·I would like to make LCD to display GPS data "NMEA"·or at least·"Lat/Lon" data, any help would be appreciate·it, if anyone has done·something like that before, I would be happy to have a link.
I come from a good electronics background, but I am not very good at programming BS2, &·I need help, mostly by coding.

Thanks·

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2010-02-16 15:17
    Welcome to the forums.

So, what have you done so far to achieve your goal?

Its always easier for us to help you get over individual hurdles rather than try to imagine what problems you might run into.

In general, you'll do three things:

1. Hook up the GPS and get the data to read out on the the Debug screen.

2. Hook up the LCD and prove to yourself you can put data onto the screen.

3. Now combine the two previous steps by reading the GPS and put its data onto the LCD.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
    ·
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-02-16 15:32
    It's not just a matter of programming. A BS2 will have problems handling the raw NMEA data strings because of the limited variable storage (26 bytes). That's why the GPS modules that Parallax sells for use with a BS2 have an on-board SX controller to decode the NMEA data and present it in simplified form to the BS2. You could use pretty much any of the other BASIC Stamp modules (BS2e / BS2sx / BS2p / BS2pe / BS2px) to do this since they have additional storage (Scratchpad RAM) that can be used for receiving strings of data that can then be decoded.