Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Please help with my Motor control with IR motion sensor project — Parallax Forums

Please help with my Motor control with IR motion sensor project

UlsterhoundUlsterhound Posts: 2
edited 2010-02-03 14:32 in BASIC Stamp
Hello All,

I am new to microcontrollers and my new Basic Stamp.

I would like to use my basic stamp to start a motor using an IR sensor to monitor motion. This would start a motor that rotates something. When the rotating object rotates enough I would like it to stop by activating a button. This would then reverse the rotation and hen it has returned to it's starting position it would stop again because it activates another button. Then repeat the process again.

What components should I buy and how do you suggest I program this? Thank you much.

Ulsterhound

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-01-31 22:02
    Download "What's a Microcontroller?", "Robotics with the BoeBot", and the "BASIC Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual" from Parallax's Downloads area. The first will teach you (if you do the exercises) to program the Stamp. The second will teach you how servo motors operate and how to get them to work with a Stamp. The last will provide a reference for Stamp Basic. Parallax sells IR LEDs and both IR phototransistors and IR detectors (for modulated IR like that in remote controls). As is true for many Parallax products, the documentation and sample code have links on the Parallax webstore page for the product. You'll need some kind of motor. A continuous motion servo motor might do what you want and is simple to interface to a Stamp and simple to use. The Robotics tutorial goes into detail on that. Another tutorial, "IR Remote for the BoeBot Robot", goes into detail on the use of IR LEDs and IR detectors.

I would suggest you first try to describe what you want in more detail before trying to buy components unless you want to experiment first.
  • Spiral_72Spiral_72 Posts: 791