Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Advice needed — Parallax Forums

Advice needed

BrankoGBrankoG Posts: 2
edited 2010-01-16 23:33 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi!

I'm a novice here and I had some experience with microcontrollers, but not much do.

I have created a Linux acquisition m2m system, and it's working really fine, but...
Now I want to implement this idea into a smaller environment with lesser demands and no need for Linux system. While searching for the appropriate microcontrollers I ran into parallax.
OK,now the facts.

I need to measure 2 temperatures, humidity, 2 fan's speed, hours that the unit has been working and intrusion detect. The 2x16 Parallel LCD would be nice to.
So I have a data server on the other side that collects raw data and put's it into a database on every report.

Now, as you already conclude, I need this unit to collect data. It needs to show temperature, humidity and fan speeds on the LCD and to send a summary at 8:00am and 20:00pm via Telit GM862-QUAD PY to my server. It also need to send the signal if the intrusion switch has been trigered.
The HM862 has embedded TCP/IP stack, FTP and SMTP server + Serial port multiplexer so sending the data via m2m protocol is his part.
So basicly it need to send this data via serial port.

Can it be done with parallax and witch one, Basic stamp, SX or Propeller?
It was an exam project, and now I would like to extend it to my seminar project on m2m communication and telemetric on older MIL machines.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-01-11 15:42
    It can be done with Parallax microcontrollers. It could be done with a Stamp, but you'd need a real-time clock ... not a big deal. I'd suggest using a BS2pe which also has extra EEPROM for datalogging between summary dumps. You would need an external ADC if any of the sensors have analog outputs.