Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
basic stamp in C — Parallax Forums

basic stamp in C

ch2845ch2845 Posts: 6
edited 2010-01-07 19:08 in BASIC Stamp
i am a C and java programmer and i happen to have a very old Basic Stamp 2 sumo-bot. i haven't had much experience with Basic Stamps but when i tried programming it i found i did not care for PBASIC very much. after doing a LOT of research i found that you can really only program this with 2 languages: PBASIC or Assembly. that is basically a choice between high level programming and bare bones low level programming. so this got me wondering, if the basic stamp can be programmed in assembly, can i use some kind of C compiler to compile the code into assembly and then upload it to the robot?

Comments

• ZootZoot Posts: 2,227
    edited 2010-01-06 22:42
    You can not code a Basic Stamp in assembly (rather, if you did, you would permanently be overwriting the "pre-burned" Pbasic Interpreter).

In theory, you could create a C compiler that would tokenize into a ready-to-download Pbasic token stream, but I don't see that it would be worth it.

There are some C compiler's available for the Propeller and a few for the SX (both of which can be programmed in Basic-like languages, assembly, and C with third-party compilers).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. -- HST

1uffakind.com/robots/povBitMapBuilder.php
    1uffakind.com/robots/resistorLadder.php
  • ch2845ch2845 Posts: 6
    edited 2010-01-07 15:48
    thats too bad. the robot i have seems to already be hardcoded in assembly. the only way to control the robots movements is by sending in pre-programmed constants which the robot interprets to do very basic movements such as forward, backward, left or right. i can't program it to move the left wheel forward for instance, i believe that is do to some other IC board on the robot that both wheels are connected to.