Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
USB to Serial for BS2 Homework Board — Parallax Forums

USB to Serial for BS2 Homework Board

GasPipeGasPipe Posts: 3
edited 2010-01-12 19:10 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I am new to this forum and would like to thank in advance anyone who can help.

I have a good basic electronics background and am a amateur radio operator.·

Being a complete newbee to the controller world, I purchased What is A Microcontroller from the shack and hurried home to check out this new world.

I was greatly excited to get my new microcontroller plugged up to my laptop when I realized that I have no serial port, only USB.
Dashed, before any blinking lights or anything.confused.gif

Being pretty handy with a soldering iron and whatnot is there any hack for this cable that is cheap and easy?

I have just started looking so any links or other info would be greatly appreciated.

I would hate to kill my new stamp before I got anything out of it.

PS I could not find a spell check on the posting page so I apologize for any errors.

Comments

• NoorNoor Posts: 13
    edited 2010-01-03 17:53
    Hi GasPipe,
    you can buy serial- usb convertor from shack or any elctronic store
    Serial_to_usb_converter_R7309268_wp.jpg
  • GasPipeGasPipe Posts: 3
    edited 2010-01-03 18:14
    I just came from the Shack and the cable they showed me was 6' long and was almost $40. Holy cow.

I like the one in your post but they didn't have one like it in the store.

I will keep looking for a wiring diagram or something, I know there is a cheap hack somewhere as I have the connectors just not together LOL.

Thanks for your interest Noor!
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-01-03 18:26
    For $40, you could buy a Parallax USB to RS232 adapter and ship it overnight.

www.parallax.com/Store/Accessories/CablesConverters/tabid/166/txtSearch/usb2ser/List/0/SortField/4/ProductID/378/Default.aspx