Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Any ideas? — Parallax Forums

Any ideas?

Matt H.Matt H. Posts: 3
edited 2010-01-03 21:33 in BASIC Stamp
Hey guys! I've been doing a robot with the BS2 for a couple years now and I'm wondering if it can handle a boebot cam? I'm thinking about using the robot as a facial recognition system or something along those lines. Thanks!

Matt

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-01-03 01:00
    A Stamp has neither the memory nor the speed to do any kind of video processing. There is a version of the CMUcam designed for use with a BoeBot, but the Stamp does none of the video processing. It's all done by an SX microprocessor on the CMUcam and the Stamp just tells the SX what to do. Facial recognition takes something on the order of a PC for doing the processing. One of the little embedded Linux boxes like the Gumstix would probably have enough computing power.
  • Matt H.Matt H. Posts: 3
    edited 2010-01-03 06:38
    Thanks, Mike. If you don't mind me asking another question, what about the ColorPAL? I'd be willing to work something out with that. I'm on a tight budget, sadly, but I think I could do some pretty cool stuff with something visual or related to color or light sensing. I already have a PING)) ultrasonic sensor and a Hitachi compass on the robot. It's original purpose was to travel in multiple directions (eg. Northeast then South) while avoiding objects, and then getting back on the same route after avoiding said objects. Any ideas for some affordable sensors that could work with the two that I have while doing a totally different task? I don't mind the code writing at all, but I'm out of ideas for the purpose of the robot. confused.gif
    Thank you so much, again!

Matt
    edited 2010-01-03 18:09
    You first have to think about the purpose of the robot, then figure out what you need to do it.