Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Brownouts when Writing to EEPROM — Parallax Forums

Brownouts when Writing to EEPROM

Adam SAdam S Posts: 10
edited 2010-01-01 06:09 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,

I'm a novice when it comes to electronics and the like, but I'm trying to make a device that senses the temperature and records it to the EEPROM onboard the BS2.

I know EEPROM has a limited lifetime, but I don't plan on anywhere near 1,000,000 writes.

So I'm using the DS1620 temperature chip and the Board of Education. The DS1620 reads the temperature just fine and I can display it on the debug screen, but when I call the method to store the temp data to EEPROM, the code restarts. Or thats what I think it's doing, because a tone is played at the very beginning, and after each write command, the tone plays again.

The board of education is connected to the Boe Bot chassis, but nothing is connected except the servos (and I tried running the program without the servos and it still restarted).

Here's my code. I understand how most of it works, but I am guilty of copying code from here (page 16):

www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/appkit/ds1620thermometer.pdf

and I do not understand that part of the code (namely the part that involves the "sign bit" according to the comments).
I have a feeling though that the problem doesn't lie within that part of the code though, since the brownout only occurs when I call SaveData.

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

Temp       VAR    Word              ' Word variable to hold 9-bit data.
Sign       VAR    Temp.BIT8       ' Sign bit of raw temperature data.
T_sign     VAR    Bit               ' Saved sign bit for converted temperature.
memloc     VAR    Word              ' the location to store the latest reading.
counter    VAR    Word              ' counter for the main FOR loop

memloc = 0

FREQOUT 0, 2000, 3000

OUTS=%0000000000000000               ' Define the initial state of all pins,
     'FEDCBA9876543210