Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
More memory? — Parallax Forums

More memory?

XanfarasXanfaras Posts: 7
edited 2009-12-31 01:35 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,

I'm pretty new to robotics and the BASIC stamp. Firstly, should anyone need to know, I am using the USB BOE stamp (link below). What I am trying to do, is to create a shortest-path maze-bot. The algorithm I have been developing is based on the A* algorithm (link below). Basically, the bot is supposed to visit each of the cells in the maze in order to determine the distance from the start. Then, the robot is able to head from finish to start using the shortest path by following the numbers in decreasing fashion back to start. With that said, I initially estimate for an nxn maze, I will need at least n*n*ceiling(log2(n*n)) bits for storing these cell distances. From what I understand, the BASIC stamp has 32 bytes of RAM, of which, 6 bytes are reserved for controlling the IO pins, leaving 26 bytes available. This would mean my maze size is limited to 6x6 (24.5 bytes) under minimum usage assumptions, which, quite frankly, is not going to happen.

Now, for my actual question(s), is there a good method one can employ to increase the available memory of the stamp? My initial thoughts were of some sort of chip expansion, although, further thinking led me to some other options, such as communication with a host (PC), or something along those lines. Perhaps I should be looking into another, less memory intensive algorithm? Then again, there is always the possibility that I've messed something up or missed something entirely, which is why I turn to those with more knowledge than I. Any thoughts, suggestions, or questions are happily welcomed and encouraged.

Thanks
Xan

My Board:
www.parallax.com/StoreSearchResults/tabid/768/List/0/SortField/4/ProductID/294/Default.aspx?txtSearch=board+of+education+usb

A* Algorithm:
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A*_search_algorithm

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256