Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help needed for Indoor Location Position system — Parallax Forums

Help needed for Indoor Location Position system

ShinXIIIShinXIII Posts: 8
edited 2010-01-01 18:56 in BASIC Stamp
Hello All,

I'm new to Basic stamps and I have a school project that require me to set up a indoor localization system using Basic stamp to get the location of a toy tricycle and hope can control it to go to the assigned location automatically.

The components i have at this moment is eb500 (for bluetooth communication between host computer and tricycle) and CMPS03 (compass to get the direction of tricycle is heading), and an encoder. I wish to set up a real time system to know the x-y coordinate value of the tricycle, but have no clue on how to do it. Could anyone enlight me a bit?

I believe compass CMPS03 could give me the direction of tricycle, but i have no idea how to get the x and y coordiantes from the tricycle to the host computer. Thanks alot for your help and Marry Xmas in advance to everyone [noparse]:)[/noparse]

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-12-23 08:12
    Assuming that you don't plan on installing some sort of transmitter system like GPS or airplane guidance radar...

Using the encoders (one for each wheel), you can figure out what direction and how far you are moving. If you know your start location (usually (0,0)) then you can then calculate your path and current position. You wouldn't even need a compass, although you could use that for initial heading calibration to perhaps to correct for accumulated errors in the encoder measurement. But to start you'll want to look up dead reckoning.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Powered by enthusiasm
  • P!-RoP!-Ro Posts: 1,189
    edited 2009-12-23 09:12