Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp Speaker Circuit — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp Speaker Circuit

eiplannereiplanner Posts: 112
edited 2009-12-29 15:08 in BASIC Stamp
Hey All,
I am a newbie to electronics in general. I have just completed the "What is a Microcontroller" text and all exercises therein.

I am looking to program my basic stamp to read sheet music note by note and play the chords on an 8 ohm .5 watt speaker.
I have spent more than 10 hours online for 2 days trying to find the circuit diagrams to accomplish this. I found the sheet music conversion program that Parallax recently wrote, but this is output to a piezo speaker. I want to do it on my normal speaker. I am pretty sure it is not the same circuit as the one for the piezo and I do not want to damage my stamp by just connecting it and giving it a try.

Can someone point me to an exact schematic that shows all the connections, devices and their values, from my BS2 Homework Board to my 8 ohm speaker.

Thank you for tolerating me and my novice/newbie status. I really am enjoying my new toys and the world of possibilities.

P.S. I forgot to state that I want to build the entire circuit from scratch myself on my homework board and am not looking for any other controllers that accomplish this for me........Thank You

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-12-13 22:54
    Page 446 of the BASIC Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual shows what you need to drive a speaker from a Stamp I/O pin. This won't provide anything like 0.5W since an I/O pin at best might provide 50mW to 100mW. The 33 Ohm resistor mentioned in series with the speaker would absorb most of that power leaving you with 10mW to 20mW for the speaker itself.