Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
batron lcd blank and won't display anything — Parallax Forums

batron lcd blank and won't display anything

qdoggmetsqdoggmets Posts: 14
edited 2010-01-15 01:03 in Learn with BlocklyProp
hi,

i have the following batron·or data-modul lcd display: http://www.datamodul.com/us/page/popup_pages/Standard%20monochromatic%20alpha/alphanumeric/BT%2021603/BTHQ_21603V-STF-LV-LEDYG_withConn.pdf

i am attempting to use a slightly modified version of the·sample code from
http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/books/BS2pCommands.pdf· on page 205

i can't get anything to display on the lcd.
i think the problem is that i am not setting the bus timings correctly because i have triple checked the pin to pin connections.

i have attached my code. can someone take a look and let me know how i can get something on the display.

thanks,
kevin

Comments

  • David CarrierDavid Carrier Posts: 294
    edited 2009-12-10 23:40
    Kevin,
    I tried your code, and it works, but only with the pinout of the original example you based your code on. If you need to change the pinout, you will have to change the 'P' and 'RS' constants, as well as several binary bit patterns (e.g. char = %00000110) that assume a specific pinout.

    -- David Carrier
    Parallax, Inc.

    Edit: P.S. This code may be easier to base your project on: www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/src/prod/LCD2x16Par.zip

    Post Edited (David Carrier (Parallax)) : 12/11/2009 12:20:44 AM GMT
  • qdoggmetsqdoggmets Posts: 14
    edited 2009-12-11 00:35
    hi,

    here is the current pin out

    'LCD CONTROLLER
    ' LCD Connections:
    '
    ' LCD - (Function) - Pin Out on BS2
    '
    ' pin 1 Vss VSS
    ' pin 2 Vdd VDD
    ' pin 3 Vzero VDD
    ' pin 4 RS P0
    ' pin 5 R/W P1
    ' pin 6 E P2
    ' pin 7 DB0 P3
    ' pin 8 DB1 P4
    ' pin 9 DB2 P5
    ' pin 10 DB3 P6
    ' pin 11 DB4 P7
    ' pin 12 DB5 P8
    ' pin 13 DB6 P9
    ' pin 14 DB7 P10
    ' pin 15 LED+ VDD
    ' pin 16 LED- VSS

    thanks,
    kevin
  • qdoggmetsqdoggmets Posts: 14
    edited 2009-12-14 17:35
    hi,

    i configured the pin outs like you suggested and am using the basic code sample you sent me but still can't get anything on the lcd.

    i have attached the code and the pin out to pin out configurations.

    i would appreciate your help aligning the code into a working example that i can work from and learn what the code is doing.

    thanks again for all of your help. i will try and call later to get ahold of you.

    thanks,
    kevin
  • David CarrierDavid Carrier Posts: 294
    edited 2009-12-14 18:13
    Kevin,
    If you change your wiring to follow this setup, it will work with your code as well as the example code:
    ' LCD - (Function) - Pin Out on BS2
    ' ----------------------------------
    ' pin 1    Vss         VSS
    ' pin 2    Vdd         VDD
    ' pin 3    Vzero       VDD
    ' pin 4    RS          P3
    ' pin 5    R/W         P2
    ' pin 6    E           P0
    ' pin 7    DB0         empty
    ' pin 8    DB1         empty
    ' pin 9    DB2         empty
    ' pin 10   DB3         empty
    ' pin 11   DB4         P4
    ' pin 12   DB5         P5
    ' pin 13   DB6         P6
    ' pin 14   DB7         P7
    ' pin 15   LED+        VDD
    ' pin 16   LED-        VSS
    
    



    -- David Carrier
    Parallax, Inc.
  • qdoggmetsqdoggmets Posts: 14
    edited 2009-12-14 19:33
    hi,
    i made the switch but still get nothing. attached is the new piece of code.
    thanks,
    kevin
  • qdoggmetsqdoggmets Posts: 14
    edited 2010-01-15 00:52
    hi,

    here is the function set http://www.lcd-module.de/eng/pdf/zubehoer/nt3881d.pdf

    look on page 15 of the pdf

    thanks,
    kevin
  • qdoggmetsqdoggmets Posts: 14
    edited 2010-01-15 01:03
    2) i attempt to initialize it

    'DEBUG "8bit, 2 line, 5x8", CR
    OUTL = %0011000
    GOSUB Send_Inst

    (this is clearly wrong and has a typo but allows something to be written to the first line only

    as you suggested:
    when i change this to 00111000, i don't get anything on the display at all,
    when i change this to 00110000, i get one line of code on the display
    when i change this to 00101000, i don't get anything on the display
    when i try 00100000 i get very strange results probably due to setting it to 4 bit mode

    i have also stated that i have completely eliminated this line and let the module set itself up.

    neither work.

    i have tried manually setting the cursor to the second line or letting autoincriment handle it.

    neither work.
Sign In or Register to comment.