Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What to buy to start off? — Parallax Forums

What to buy to start off?

ShrimpTunaShrimpTuna Posts: 1
edited 2009-12-08 20:55 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi

I have a project in mind that I would like to accomplish but I have very little knowledge in electronics(I'm a programmer), so I'm looking for a kit to start off with to learn.
Since I live in the Middle East though I am looking for the most inclusive kit.

Which kit would be the best to get to start off with? I was thinking of buying the BASIC Stamp Discovery Kit and maybe one of the sensors kits... Woul that be good? I'm looking to learn as much as I can while hopefully only sending a few hundred dollars.

Thanks.

Comments

• Peter KG6LSEPeter KG6LSE Posts: 1,383
    edited 2009-12-08 18:54
    The Home Work Board is a great and fast way to get in to Stamps .

And the Little book is a life saver !
    you can get it at most Radio shacks ..

But If you want to use a a normal DIP Stamp and not a " embedded" one the Board Of Education "BOE" is better ..

PS ..Thank you Who took care of the dubble post .. smilewinkgrin.gif (I hate when it happens ..)

Peter KG6LSE

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "Carpe Ducktum" "seize the tape!!"
    peterthethinker.com/tesla/Venom/Venom.html
    Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway. —Tanenbaum, Andrew S.
    LOL

Post Edited (Peter KG6LSE) : 12/8/2009 7:15:28 PM GMT
  • Jessica UelmenJessica Uelmen Posts: 490
    edited 2009-12-08 20:55
    Hi ShrimpTuna,

The BASIC Stamp Discovery Kit is a great way to get started with electronics. The What's a Microcontroller book will introduce basic electronics concepts and give you the foundation you need to start designing and building your own circuits. If you would like, you can download a free copy of the text here.