Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Total noob needs help with programm — Parallax Forums

Total noob needs help with programm

WallydragWallydrag Posts: 16
edited 2009-12-12 17:35 in BASIC Stamp
Okay guys, I need a lot of help since I really know nothing.

I'm wanting to use a BASIC Stamp 1 Carrier Board (which means programming a BASIC Stamp 1 Module I think) to control a small DC motor. I'm also wanting to use a parallax PIR sensor to activate the motor.

It doesn't seem like that hard of a thing to accomplish, I just don't really know how to do it.

I'm wanting it to do this:

When the PIR sensor senses movement it activates the motor to turn for 0.5 seconds then stop, pause for 5 seconds, then revers polarity and turn the other way for 0.5 seconds, then pause for 30 seconds and reset.

I also need to control how fast the motor spins but I think I do that with resistors (though I could be wrong).

Any help at all would be very, very appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-12-08 15:59
    Start with "What's a Microcontroller?" and the "BASIC Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual". You can find the first by going to Parallax's main website and clicking on "Downloads". In the list that you get, if you click on "Stamps in Class Downloads", you'll find the first. If you click on "BASIC Stamp Documentation", you'll find the second. To control a motor the way you want, you'll need an H-bridge like the L293D. Do a Google search for "wiki h-bridge" for an article on h-bridges and how they work. There is sample code for the L293D in Parallax's StampWorks manual which you can download from here: www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampModules/tabid/134/txtSearch/stampworks/List/1/ProductID/144/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName
  • WallydragWallydrag Posts: 16
    edited 2009-12-09 03:40