Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Home Environmental Monitioring — Parallax Forums

Home Environmental Monitioring

Mister EdMister Ed Posts: 2
edited 2009-12-06 04:35 in Accessories
I am BRAND NEW to Stamps and Parallax.

Goal:

Develop PC-based home environmental monitoring system.

Typical Inputs desired: room temp/humidity; radiant floor heating temps and zone circulation pump(s) run status at supply/return manifolds; hot water heater; current draw at elec distribution panel; Outside air temp/humidity

What modules/sensors would best serve this type of application? Any canned software I could modify and run with?

Has someone else done something similiar? No need to reinvent the wheel.

Any leads or suggestions are welcome,

Ed

Comments

• Sal AmmoniacSal Ammoniac Posts: 213
    edited 2009-12-03 15:20
    For humidity there's the Sensirion SHT15, which Parallax sells as product code 28018. For temperature, I like the LM34 (or LM35 if you like temps in Celsius). It outputs 10 mV per degree F, which is easy to read with an ADC. Another option is the Dallas 1-wire series of sensors.
  • ElectricAyeElectricAye Posts: 4,561
    edited 2009-12-04 05:30
    Are you fixated on using Stamps or have you ever considered the Propeller chip? The Propeller has lots of pins to play with and plenty of "objects" that allow you to hook up things like Real Time Clocks, digital thermometers (DS18B20, for example), you name it, plus record data onto SD cards, plus output things onto a TV or VGA screen with menu capability using a mouse, etc. You might even be able to log your whole house on a single chip.

Just a thought.

smile.gif
  • TinkersALotTinkersALot Posts: 535
    edited 2009-12-04 08:20