Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Line tracking with object avoidance ( in the middle of the line ) using Boe bot — Parallax Forums

Line tracking with object avoidance ( in the middle of the line ) using Boe bot

Mengz_ZaiMengz_Zai Posts: 7
edited 2009-12-22 18:55 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone,

I am a beginner using boe bot hope to get your help.

I have Ping, CMUcam1 and Boebot

I would like to check if it is possible to use both Ping and CMUcam1 onto Boe bot to do the tracking? or I should use Ping and IR to to the line tracking?

Also how can i configure so that boe bot will return to the line after avoiding the project.? using Basic stamp

I have tried searching the forum but i cannot find any example on this.

attached is the picture of what i required to do.

Lastly is it possible to configure the boe bot to navigate autonomously??

Thank you for your help
467 x 467 - 58K

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-11-27 18:28
    I have been working on a side project to get the stingray (aka giant boe-bot) to follow a line and it is surprisingly difficult. Much more difficult than I had anticipated. Of course, a very slow and jerky line following algorithm isn't that hard but if you try to get some speed then it becomes much more difficult.

I don't know about the use of the CMU cam, so I won't comment on that. I'll make the assumption that whatever method you implement that you end up with a variable that holds the line information.

Most of the programming will depend on the object. Is it a regular object that is a standard size and shape? If it is then you can just do dead reckoning and work your way around the object by guessing. If it isn't then you'll need to keep track of where the object is and maintain a constant distance from it until you get back to the line. In either case it involves going in a circle (or other shape) around the object once the boe bot is some specified distance from it.