Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
new to this, need help...... — Parallax Forums

new to this, need help......

yamazukiyamazuki Posts: 8
edited 2009-11-24 07:49 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to this but am picking things up pretty quick. On to my problem.....

I have a BS2 on the home work board and PBASIC 2.5. I am trying to read data bits from a device that uses a method of timed serial output.
This device has a 11.58ms synchronization period where the output is high. At the end of the synch period is a high to low transition. 251.77us after the start of the transition I need to know the state of the pin, high or low (the first bit should be a high level for start). The pin will then go high again for a short time, to provide the high to low transition so the next bit can be read at 251.77us.

I have 32 bits I need read, then the unit can pause for approx 16ms, before the 11ms synch period starts.

Essentially, the device I am trying to read the data from has:
32 data bits including the start bit, these will be either high or low depending on what it is trying to say
4 fill bits, these will be a low state
38 synch bits (according to the devices output protocol), these will be in a low state and I'm not concerned with these
66 bits of idle time, these are in a high state and immediately precede the start bit.

total the device is outputting 140 bits in 48ms with 11.58ms of idle time
the first 32 bits come in 16.11ms and these are the important ones, the remaining time will be needed for outputs I imagine.

So far I have tried everything I can think of to get this to work for me, SERIN does not work since there are no stop bits until bit 33 and the BS2 can only handle 16.....also I have know way to know what baud mode this would be, parity, ect.....

SHIFTIN does nothing for me since this is a single wire data line......