Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Toggle between radio control and autonomous control — Parallax Forums

Toggle between radio control and autonomous control

kenjones1935kenjones1935 Posts: 3
edited 2009-11-17 14:10 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to Parallax. It comes highly recommended.

I wish to build a 1/10 scale hobby level radio control car that can also run autonomously. I think the Basic Stamp can do the job, but I am not sure. The question is how do deal with the pulse width modulated signals that come from the radio receiver. Presently they go directly into the electronic speed control module and the steering servo. I thought that for my design I could use them as inputs to the PIC.

I hope that I do not have to use Basic Stamp code space and compute power to continuously sample the three RC receive channels. Is there some kind of transition detector which can digitize the PWM signals? I assume the PIC input can figure when they change.

If the Basic Stamp can not be the central brains of this operation I can use double pole double throw switches under PC control to steer the PWM signals. I would rather not go that route.

Ken

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-11-16 04:18
    There is no mechanism for the Stamp to automatically sample the RC channels. Typically you'd use a sequence of 3 PULSIN statements, one for each channel. The RC receiver normally receives one channel at a time and the PWM signals occur in sequence and repeat about 50 times a second. There's not much time left to do control functions once you account for timing 3 RC receive channels and 3 servo PWM output channels. It's possible to offload the PWM output functions, but I don't know any ready-to-go PWM input processor.