Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Senior Design Project - RC car object detection — Parallax Forums

Senior Design Project - RC car object detection

d(-_-)bd(-_-)b Posts: 3
edited 2009-11-16 03:17 in Learn with BlocklyProp
As the title says my team mates and I have bought a stamp2 microcontroller along with the super carrier board to program it. From the topics I've read so far I'm concerned that we won't be able to use PMW modulation and controlling the duty cycle as a means of motor speed control. The RC car we are using has 2 DC motors one for the front to control the left and right steering of the car and a second that control the forward and backward motion of the car. Since we aren't dealing with servos, will we need to be using HWPM to give us a cleaner duty cycle? We are using two parallax proximity sensors on the front and back as a means of collision detection, and the final goal of the project is to make the car autonomous and parallel park itself. I'm brand new to basic stamp programming and currently working on a sample program which moves the car forward and brings it to a complete stop when it senses an object a foot in front of it. Any references as far as motor control is concerned or any other info would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-11-10 02:27
    What is "HWPM"?
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-11-10 07:28
    Look at the DC motor controllers that are in the Parallax webstore. Also look at the Wikipedia article on H-Bridges. The Stamps are not really designed for PWM control of DC motors, so you need some kind of external motor driver. If you want to control the motor's speed, you need a PWM-based controller for the H-Bridge which handles On/Off switching and reversing the direction of the motor.
  • d(-_-)bd(-_-)b Posts: 3
    edited 2009-11-10 20:04