Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Want to remotely control potentiometers, not sure how — Parallax Forums

Want to remotely control potentiometers, not sure how

steambcsteambc Posts: 11
edited 2009-11-03 20:50 in BASIC Stamp
Hi Guys,

As a musician, I use two effects pedals each of which has several pots to control various parameters.

While performing, I can't tweak these pots as I would have to bend down to do it. I was thinking that there must be a way to create a "pod" of some kind that I can mount on my mic stand, and each pot on the "pod"·would remotely control a corresponding pot on the pedal.

The actuators connected to the pedal pots would have to be mechanical in nature (as opposed to replacing the pots with electronics), because I would want it to be universal in nature... having the ability to fit the device(s) to any pedal or even an amplifier.

Essentially, if I turn pot 1 on the "pod" to 10:00, I would want the controlled pot to turn to 10:00. The assembly would have to rotate in very fine increments since I would be doing some fine tweaking of the controls for the sake of the overall balance of instruments. I'm basically looking for a 1:1 ratio so I always know how I'm set just by looking at the "pod" pots.

Can any of you steer me in the right direction? I was thinking of using a basic stamp II as a controller, but I also need ideas for the mechanical turning of the pots. Servos? Worm gears? I don't mind inventing something new if nothing exists already.

It absolutely doesn't have to be wireless in any way , unless that turns out to be easier to implement.

Thanks for any and all suggestions. Please respond even if your ideas seem a little outlandish. It's brain-storming time!

Thanks again,
Brian

Comments

• mikedivmikediv Posts: 825
    edited 2009-11-01 21:03