Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Adaptive mapping. Help needed!!! — Parallax Forums

Adaptive mapping. Help needed!!!

marioskmariosk Posts: 6
edited 2009-11-01 16:58 in BASIC Stamp
Hi i am a student at a greek university and i am writing my graduate project work and i would like to know if i can use the parallax boe bot to implement adaptive mapping. In detail the robot should start in a predefined position (start) and reach a predefined goal (finish) while avoiding any obstacles between start and finish. Any info on how to program this using pbasic would be very helpful.

Post Edited (mariosk) : 10/31/2009 4:01:24 AM GMT

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2009-10-31 04:14
    Where does the adaptive mapping come in? What you described can be done without mapping.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • marioskmariosk Posts: 6
    edited 2009-10-31 04:45
    The robot should be able to map a certain room lets say for example 5x5 squares it would start at a certain position in the grid and finish at another grid position. The robot can update its map when objects get in the way. Its not just reactive wandering, but planned navigation. This isnt pure reactive mapping:
    it knows where it is
    it knows where it has been
    it knows where it is going
    it knows the locations of moving obstacles
    it optimizes for minimal travel distance
    and it cannot be tricked! Its adaptive!

One way do to this is to implement the wavefront algorithm.

more info in this video:
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-10-31 04:58