Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Accelerate boe bot up to speed — Parallax Forums

Accelerate boe bot up to speed

lakers78lakers78 Posts: 3
edited 2009-10-30 21:49 in BASIC Stamp
I'm wondering if there is a way to start the boe bot from rest and accelerate the boe bot up to full speed. The reason is because we are putting some bigger wheels on it, and we don't want the servo gears to strip.
I'm completely new to this stuff so please be descriptive. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-10-29 13:24
    Yes

Read the Robotics with the BoeBot tutorial. It describes how servos work. In particular, continuous motion servos respond to the width of the control pulse they're sent and the farther the pulse width is from the "stop" setting of 1.5ms, the faster they go. Many of the examples use a more or less maximum setting to move the BoeBot, but you can start with pulse widths close to the stop point and slowly change them. Experiment with the servos and see what you get with different pulse widths.

For example, a "PULSOUT <pin>,750" will produce a pulse of 1.5ms which should hold the servo in a stopped position (see the calibration program in the tutorial). A "PULSOUT <pin>,800" should move the servo slowly in one direction while a "PULSOUT <pin>,700" should move it slowly in the other direction. Values of 500 and 1000 should move the servo at full speed in each direction.
  • lakers78lakers78 Posts: 3
    edited 2009-10-30 21:35
    Ok so I figured out how to ramp, that was fine. (I didn't realize that it was in the book).

But here's my problem:

How can I get the boe bot to do 2 things at the same time? I want to tell the boebot to go forward x number of feet along a line, and if and only if the boebot deviates from that line, then I want the QTI sensors to get it back on track.

Here is my code for the dead reckoning:

FOR counter = 1 TO 232
    PULSOUT 13, 850
    PULSOUT 12, 650
    Next