Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic stamp communication through visual studio — Parallax Forums

Basic stamp communication through visual studio

SD2POSD2PO Posts: 11
edited 2009-11-19 18:10 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am working on a object detection system. I currently have the Basic Stamp Homework Board. At first I was going to try to do things wirelessly but time has been shortened and so I am wanting to run everything off of one machine. I am new to Basic stamp and was wondering is there anyway I could communicate through the Serial-USB to my laptop and see the data that is coming from the Basic Stamp....Based on Status change 0,1, send an email to a customer.

Thanks...Please Someone Help!!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-10-27 05:08
    You can use the DEBUG or SEROUT 16 statements. Both transmit standard serial data via the serial-USB adapter to the PC. If you're using a BS2, the Baud is 9600. On the PC side, you can use any program or programming language that can read from a serial port at 9600 Baud. The Stamp Editor's DEBUG window can do this and you can test the Stamp programming this way or you can write a Visual XXX program (whatever XXX happens to be) to receive the serial data.
  • SD2POSD2PO Posts: 11
    edited 2009-10-27 23:54
    Thanks so Much Mike! I am new to the Basic Stamp and I thought it would be interesting to try something new that I could learn about. I am just trying to figure out how to program the board using Visual Studio now...hopefully I can get this done in the next week or so...
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2009-10-28 02:20
    You can't "program the board" (stamp) with Visual Studio. You can communicate with a program on the stamp though.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
    edited 2009-10-28 03:32