Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Dynamic Acceleration without tilt? — Parallax Forums

Dynamic Acceleration without tilt?

RedWolfRedWolf Posts: 2
edited 2009-10-27 19:42 in Accessories
I am a newbie so please please forgive me if this is s dumb question. Is it possible to write the basic stamp code in such a way as to recognize dynamic acceleration without tilt/ static acceleration from the H48C accelerometer? I need to sense deceleration/acceleration along one axis regardless of the tilt orientation of the sensor. My problem is that the sensor is giving me the same values for static tilt acceleration as it does for dynamic acceleration and I get a "false positive" reading. Any ideas?

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2009-10-26 19:24
    No. According to Einstein, inertial and gravitational acceleration are equivalent. There's no way to tell them apart using acceleration measurements alone. To do what you want, you need an inertial frame of reference, such as a gyro, a three-axis compass, or — if in a controlled envronment — an external optical reference.

-Phil
  • MikeKMikeK Posts: 118
    edited 2009-10-27 01:29
    My physics is a bit (a lot, really) rusty, but if you only care about the magnitude of the acceleration, and not the direction, could you use sqrt(x**2 + y**2 + z**2), where x, y, and z are the acceleration in each axis, and subtract the value at rest (1, g, etc) to get the dynamic value?

Mike
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-10-27 02:10
    Could you clarify what you mean by "static acceleration" and "dynamic acceleration"?
  • James LongJames Long Posts: 1,181
    edited 2009-10-27 02:40
    SRLM said...
    Could you clarify what you mean by "static acceleration" and "dynamic acceleration"?

I think he means static acceleration (gravity, which makes the sensor read 1G). Dynamic acceleration would be any movement forces.