Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
RFID controller with LCD and Lan connection — Parallax Forums

RFID controller with LCD and Lan connection

Wouter van RWouter van R Posts: 4
edited 2009-12-12 03:54 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,
·
This is the first time I visit the website and there a so many products I can not choose witch one I need for my first project.
·
So I looking for a self-made RFID controller who can access a database and this will be register if the person is in or out the building. I have some experience with visual basic 2005/2008/2010
·
Next to the door there will be a RFID reader and is connected to a database on a computer. The computer is almost 10 meters away so I can not use a USB interface but I can use LAN (Ethernet).
·
After the person showed his tag card the person will see at the LCD display that the register is ok.
·
With product do you prefer to make this real. Ehmmmm I can not soldering
·
Thank you so much.
·
Wouter

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2009-10-25 12:20
    Wouter,

Welcome to the Forums.

Can you tell us how many people you are trying to track?

For low numbers of people, you might be able to do it with the memory available in a BS2sx or BS2px.

Also, it would help if you could describe the process in greater detail:

For example:

1. approach RFID and scan tag
    2. controller checks for valid tag number
    3. is the person already in the building?
    4. display information on LCD

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
    ·
  • Wouter van RWouter van R Posts: 4
    edited 2009-10-25 14:16
    Thank you for your reply.

It will be for a small amound of people. There are working, but I need to see at my desktop who are in the building?

The proces what I concider:

1. A person has a tag card
    2. Shows his card to the RFID reader
    3. Display will say: Please what
    4. There wil be a connection to the desktop: This is alwas on.