Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Overlapping I/O — Parallax Forums

Overlapping I/O

wclarkwclark Posts: 3
edited 2009-10-10 22:43 in BASIC Stamp
Forgive me if these have been covered already. I tried searching this forum but found nothing relevant.

I am new to the Basic Stamp and have been reading everything I can find. The project we are working on is an automated start system for timing auto races on a road where the start and finish are a few miles apart. We use a twisted pair wire for communications and have for years simply had a person at start shout GO into a mic and worker with a headphone at finish press a button on a timer (which was stopped by an electric eye when the car crossed the finish). We want to upgrade this to to an automated start and trigger that includes a sequenced start light, a DTMF tone upon start that will be detected by the finish timing system and an electric eye sensing an early start and lighting a light.

The questions I havent been able to resolve regarding applying the Basic Stamp to this are:

Can the Stamp pull one Output line low to current sink a relay at the same time as another Output asserts a DTMFout? They may be held on for different times but need to be able to begin at nearly the same time.

While doing the countdown will it also be able to detect an input from our "electric eye" early start detector and at some point (either immediately when detected or shortly after the start) latch on another output while not changing anything about countdown or the DTMFout which still need to go on as normal?

Thanks.

Post Edited (wclark) : 10/10/2009 2:50:23 PM GMT

Comments

• Marz KrishnaMarz Krishna Posts: 26
    edited 2009-10-10 16:48