Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie Question - How do I erase EEPROM on my PPDB — Parallax Forums

Newbie Question - How do I erase EEPROM on my PPDB

Tony B.Tony B. Posts: 356
edited 2009-10-09 01:24 in Propeller 1
I am using the PPDB board for my testing and programing and have an old program in EEPROM so when I hit reset it tries running the old program. So my question is what is the method for erasing the EEPROM so when I hit reset to stop a program running in RAM the Propeller chip will go into idle beacuse there is no program in RAM or stored in EEPROM?

Thanks
Tony

Comments

  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2009-10-08 22:38
    Use the Basic_I2C_Driver in the OBEX. Run it to write 0's into the first 12 bytes of the EEPROM. This will prevent the program from running because you have overwritten the Initializing code.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Computers are microcontrolled.

    Robots are microcontrolled.
    I am microcontrolled.

    But you·can·call me micro.

    Want to·experiment with the SX or just put together a cool project?
    SX Spinning light display·


  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 9,202
    edited 2009-10-08 22:39
    Use F11 to download a "default" program to the EEPROM -- something you don't mind running when your RAM-based program gets clobbered by a hard-reset. It could be as simple as an empty repeat loop.
  • localrogerlocalroger Posts: 3,452
    edited 2009-10-09 00:47
    You could also just remove the EEPROM from its socket. This will prevent the Prop from booting to it but if you are hitting F10 to load Prop RAM, that would still work.
  • SamMishalSamMishal Posts: 468
    edited 2009-10-09 01:12
    Hi Tony,

    CON
      _clkmode = RCSLOW
    
     
    PUB Main
        'do nothing 
        'repeat   'uncomment this if you do not want the Propeller to go to sleep
    

    Use F11 to upload to the EEPROM the above program.



    It is a BLANK program that will cause the Propeller to do nothing and go to sleep.
    If you do not want it to go to sleep than uncomment the line with the repeat.

    All I/O lines will be set to inputs but since the propeller goes to sleep they will go into High Z too.

    If you do not want the High Z mode then uncomment the Repeat line which will keep the Propeller
    running but all I/O would be inputs and the speed will be slow which will consume very little current.



    Samuel
  • Tony B.Tony B. Posts: 356
    edited 2009-10-09 01:24
    Thanks for all the help!

    Tony
Sign In or Register to comment.