Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Beginner PING))) lowing sensitivity — Parallax Forums

Beginner PING))) lowing sensitivity

VillaroseVillarose Posts: 5
edited 2009-10-08 15:42 in Accessories
I'm new to using the PING))) ultrasonic sensor for the boe-bot, and I'm confused about how to do some things. I found a basic code on Parallax about how to sense and turn away from objects, but how can I lower the sensitivity, so it'll get closer to the object before backing up and turning? Thanks.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-10-07 16:25
    You need to post the code (or at least a link to the code) that you want to use. How can we tell you what to change unless we can tell what you're using?
  • VillaroseVillarose Posts: 5
    edited 2009-10-07 19:36
    Oh, I admit that was kind of stupid of me. The basic file I'm using can be downloaded here:

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/src/prod/RoamingWithPING-V1.0.zip

I've made quite a few small changes in mine, but none of them seemed to work for what I wanted to do, most likely because I was changing the wrong thing.
    edited 2009-10-07 21:37
    There's a comment "Is Object Farther Than 30 cm?" where the code checks for at least 30cm of space in front of the BoeBot before moving forward. If there's not at least 30cm clear space in front of the BoeBot, the program scans across the front of the BoeBot using the PING servo and the PING looking for a direction with at least 30cm of clear space in front (see just after the label "Ping_Around:" and choosing the direction with the furthest clear distance.

Since the BoeBot first checked forward for at least 30cm of clear space, then checked again on the scan (Ping_Around), if the scan indicates that the forward direction is best, there must be a problem there (because the first check was ok) and the BoeBot turns around.

Post Edited (Mike Green) : 10/7/2009 9:42:42 PM GMT
    edited 2009-10-07 21:55