Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New (Old) Programmer — Parallax Forums

New (Old) Programmer

IroneIrone Posts: 116
edited 2009-09-30 09:44 in BASIC Stamp
I am an old Fart. I may be too old or drank too much beer but I am still trying. I got a BS2 and a programming board and read thru most of the abundant information Parrallex offered free. I made a program that mimics the Kit lights. It is very simple but remember I am just a newbie. For the past 62 years I have never been afraid to ask for help and are not afraid to have some young snot show me where I went wrong. If it can be made easier or using less data help an old man out and tell me a better way to do it.

Below is my program:

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}
' Kit Lights
DEBUG "Program Running"
DO
· HIGH 15
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 15
· HIGH 14
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 14
· HIGH 13
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 13
· HIGH 12
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 12
· HIGH 11
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 11
· HIGH 10
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 10
· HIGH 11
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 11
· HIGH 12
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 12
· HIGH 13
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 13
· HIGH 14
· PAUSE 300
· LOW 14
LOOP

I wired up 6 LEDs on pins 15 thru 10 and ran them thru a 470 ohm resistor to ground.

Comments

• skylightskylight Posts: 1,915
    edited 2009-09-29 10:43
    I'm not much younger than yourself but can help a little,

to simplify you could put a variable say x in place of the pin numbers and use for x=x+1 loop until x=? then perhaps x=x-1 until x=? to go in the other direction
    this would then leave only one HIGH x and one LOW x instruction in your loop instead of all the ones you have now.

you will probably have to nest this do loop until inside your main do loop

Post Edited (skylight) : 9/29/2009 10:53:28 AM GMT
  • dev/nulldev/null Posts: 381
    edited 2009-09-29 14:36
    Try this:

mypin VAR Nib

Main:
        FOR mypin = 15 TO 10
           HIGH mypin : PAUSE 300
           LOW mypin : PAUSE 300
       NEXT

FOR mypin = 11 TO 14
          HIGH mypin : PAUSE 300