Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
radio signals — Parallax Forums

radio signals

jb44jb44 Posts: 4
edited 2009-09-17 16:28 in BASIC Stamp
Hi I'm new to the Basic Stamp but not new to programming. I need to send a radio signal reliably up to 1/2 mile based on a condition and then receive this signal for the purpose of performing a task. So I guess my question is: is there a way to send and receive a radio signal using the Basic stamp this far? I have a Board of Education project board.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-09-16 20:59
    You will need a transceiver (transmitter / receiver) at each end of the wireless link and the choice of transceiver and antenna will determine the range and reliability of the link under various conditions. A lot also depends on what's between the two sites, whether they're exposed or there are buildings / walls / trees / etc. between them. A Stamp could handle the control of the transceiver and the actual data sent back and forth.

You might have a look at some of the transmitters / receivers in Parallax's webstore. Digi also makes the xBee series of transceivers including some higher power (PRO) devices that, with a small attached antenna, could handle the distance. See Digi's website for further information on those www.digi.com

Post Edited (Mike Green) : 9/16/2009 10:57:36 PM GMT
  • xanatosxanatos Posts: 1,120
    edited 2009-09-16 20:59
    Sure can - depending on theline-of-sight conditions. I have used the XBee PRO XSC modules for this kind of range with great success. Xbees: digi.com

There are other XBee modules, but they are 2.4gHz and don't have the range that the PRO XSC does. The PRO XSC is on the 900 mHz band.

Hope this helps,

Dave X

Edit:· Looks like MGreen & I answered at the same time!
  • KMyersKMyers Posts: 433
    edited 2009-09-16 21:02
    There is a complete project on this web site doing this ham radio. You would have to be a licensed ham to use it!!