Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reading Pressure — Parallax Forums

Reading Pressure

Carl PCarl P Posts: 5
edited 2009-09-03 05:06 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all I'm working on a project I need to measure the pressure on a refrigerant circuit . I have a pressure transducer with a 0-5V output 0-500 psi how can I covert the ADC to a psi # I would appreciate any help this is my first time using ADC

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2009-09-02 14:00
    Hi Carl,

Welcome to the Forums.

By far, the simplest way to proceed is to get an LTC1298 dual channel ADC chip. Its a 12-bit unit and available with sample code from Parallax or you can get the chip from your favorite supplier and download the sample code from the Products page.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
    ·
  • Carl PCarl P Posts: 5
    edited 2009-09-02 14:56
    Thank you Tom for the help it looks like i will be using that as my ADC the only problem that remains is how to I take that output and reference it to my 0-500 psi . For example the output might be 347 from the ADC which converts to lets say 125 psi ( just made those numbers up as example )

Thanks again
  • Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
    edited 2009-09-02 15:40
    I would run some experiments. Write a small program to read the thing repeatedly, with DEBUG to tell you what you're getting. Then put some pressure on the thing, hand-recording the readings at various pressures. From that you can make a calibration curve, or derive an algebraic expression for the pressure as a function of the reading from the chip.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    · -- Carl, nn5i@arrl.net
  • stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2009-09-02 16:27
    Carl,

As Carl H pointed out, you can run a set of tests and get some representative points.

If its a commercial transducer, you'll probably be able to use a formula like:

pressure = adnum* (multiplier) + offset