Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How secure is the RFID — Parallax Forums

How secure is the RFID

poulipouli Posts: 15
edited 2009-11-19 04:54 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everybody,

first of all I have to clear out that I am not an expert in the field and the aim of this question
is to clear out some misconceptions that I may have.

I would like to ask how secure do you think that the RFID Card reader module is?
Is it possible someone to still the ID of a passive card ?
What about is someone is able to "read" the ID while I use the card to open a door ?
Is someone manages to have physical access to the module, how easy it is to "bypass" or "emulate" the card reading process ?

Could we have better security by using active tags ?
Parallax provides active tags ?

Thank you in advance,
Pouli

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-08-30 14:04
    1) "possible to steal the ID"? Yes, by using another RFID card reader within a few inches of the RFID tag somewhere else. For example, say that people use the card sized RFID tag and they carry it in their wallet or purse when it's not in use. You could mount another RFID reader on the side of a narrow doorframe, hip height from the floor. That reader will be able to read the RFID code of some of the cards passing through.

2) "read the ID while I use the card"? Yes. Someone with a very sensitive receiver and a good sized loop antenna standing next to you could do it. The loop antenna could be hidden under clothing and the other equipment could be made to fit in a pocket or pockets.

3) Someone with physical access to the module could easily bypass, record, do anything with the card reading process. Very few security systems are secure in any way if you can't control physical access.

4) Parallax does not provide active tags. Active tags don't necessarily provide more (or less) security than passive tags. It all depends on your situation.