Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Where to Start? Boe-Bot or What's a Micrcontroller — Parallax Forums

Where to Start? Boe-Bot or What's a Micrcontroller

CUBANA2004CUBANA2004 Posts: 1
edited 2009-10-18 15:30 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I understand that both of these kits are great starting points for moving on to further projects using BASIC Stamp. As a high school teacher i have the option of using either for a third level pre-engineering course. My goal in using this curriculum in my class is to introduce my students to electronics and programming. It would be easier for me to use the Boe-Bot kits in terms of what i am already in possession of but can buy the necessary components to move forward with "What's a Microcontroller" if it would better serve my purposes. Thoughts? Feedback? Your help is most appreciated.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-08-19 01:25
    The BoeBot kit has most of what you'd need for the What's a Microcontroller? exercises.· You're talking about an LED or two and a pushbutton along with a couple of resistors and capacitors.· The main advantage of starting with the BoeBot kit is that it's a robot with motors and wheels and sensors for obstacles.· You can easily work in the more basic exercises.· They need to learn about LEDs because the BoeBot uses IR LEDs for part of its obstacle sensing.· They need to learn about switches because the BoeBot uses bumper switches for obstacle sensing.· They need to learn basic programming before launching into more complex programming for the robotics.
  • Jessica UelmenJessica Uelmen Posts: 490
    edited 2009-08-19 20:42
    Hello CUBANA2004,