Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Transistor Troubles — Parallax Forums

Transistor Troubles

zachzach Posts: 6
edited 2009-08-18 03:34 in BASIC Stamp
I am fairly new to practicing electronics, although I have done much reading.

I have the Homework board, and set up a circuit for two motors using a pair of H-Bridges. The motors were powered by the nine volt battery on the homework board.
I currently have each transistor assigned to its own port on the board.

I want to power the motors seperately. From much tinkering, I have found that the only way I can get it to work is by connecting the negative of the 9 V to the Vdd on the board. Both 9 v in the schematic below come from 6 AA batteries. I am unsure of whether I need to add a resistor to the line coming back to Vdd.

Do I need to add a resistor, or is this a good idea at all.
Any other comments would be appreciated.

I have a schematic in TinyCad here...

Post Edited (zach) : 8/17/2009 3:39:24 AM GMT
350 x 566 - 22K

Comments

• $WMc%$WMc% Posts: 1,884
    edited 2009-08-17 04:24
    zach

Try this circuit.

The Vdd is the positive and the Vss is the negative. To apply power to this circuit connect the ground to Vss and the positive to Vin. Aviod the Vdd to power this circuit.

If You have more ?s drop a post reply.

I hope this helps.

_______________$WMc%_________

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    The Truth is out there············································ BoogerWoods, FL. USA

Post Edited ($WMc%) : 8/17/2009 4:39:01 AM GMT
  • zachzach Posts: 6
    edited 2009-08-18 00:31
    Thanks for the Vin advice. I am now powering the motors with 9 v instead of 5.

A few questions about the schematic.
    *What is the purpose of placing the diodes parallel to the transistors?
    Does the reverse bias protect the circuit?

*Are the resistors necessary if I am using the I/O pins from the homework board?
    I am using HIGH to send the signal which means it sends 5 volts to the transistor base.