Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using BASIC Stamp To Control A Board with 215 LEDs — Parallax Forums

Using BASIC Stamp To Control A Board with 215 LEDs

Hobbes24Hobbes24 Posts: 2
edited 2009-12-01 17:41 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, I'm a complete beginner with micro controllers but I am more than willing to learn. This is the general gist of what I want to accomplish.

I run a campground with 215 sites. I want to build a project where an LED is tied to each of those sites and the map is connected directly to the computer. I will be running a program in the background that queries the database every few seconds and updates which LEDs should be turned on or off depending on whether a site is occupied or not. I have all the computer programming stuff down pat, but I have a lot to learn about how to tie in the hardware part.

My question revolves around just what I need to do for the hardware side of things. I want to use a USB cable to connect my map to my computer. I believe I need a micro controller to act as an interface between the computer and the LED's I want to turn on. The project needs to control about 215 LED lights, each one connected to a site.

I welcome any advice or links people will give me to help me achieve what I want to do. Please take it easy on me - I'm still learning my way around these things.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-08-13 18:14
    1) You could use the same USB connection that you would use for programming. A USB Board of Education has a USB socket on it. When it's plugged into a PC, that connection can be used for downloading a program to the Stamp and it can be used for data sent back and forth. On the PC end, it looks like any other serial port and you can use any programming language or tool that handles serial communications ports.