Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Bluetooth Pairing Device Help — Parallax Forums

Bluetooth Pairing Device Help

McBobMcBob Posts: 1
edited 2009-07-31 02:58 in BASIC Stamp
I should probably start off by saying that I am no genius programmer. Well, to be honest, I can't really code my way out of a paper bag when it comes to anything other than a markup language. But that's beside the point.

I am using a BS2 on a Board of Education. I also have a Bluetooth module (both the older EmbeddedBlue and the newer Easy Bluetooth) for the board because I wanted to make what I think would be a very simple device. I am trying to make something that can be paired with a computer nearby via Bluetooth (if I could lower the antenna power to be only within a meter or two, even better for the sake of using a small amount of power) and simply send a short 64-bit (non-random) code every few seconds to the computer. Probably using the DID Bluetooth Profile, though I am not sure. This device would also need to be constantly repairing with the device should it come back in range.

Are these things that can be done with the stuff I have? How would I go about doing that? I can give more information if I wasn't being clear. Like I said, I am an idiot when it comes to code, and so while I understand the BASIC Stamp book, the Bluetooth Module manual is absolutely beyond me. I have always known about Bluetooth having profiles, classes, and pairings. But all the stuff discussed in the book just goes way over my head for the most part.

I would greatly appreciate any help!

Comments

• $WMc%$WMc% Posts: 1,884
    edited 2009-07-31 01:34
    McBob

Good luck with the Bluetooth gimmick.

I have the eb500, I can read data from this device all day long. But talking to it is a hole different story.

Don't get Me started on Windows XP64 and VISTA!!!!!!!!!

I would ditch the Bluetooth and look at WiFi. Even then its a tossup of how good the software is!

_____________________$WMc%___________