Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 RC Circuit switch? — Parallax Forums

BS2 RC Circuit switch?

JohnofWaxJohnofWax Posts: 3
edited 2009-07-27 02:47 in BASIC Stamp
First off, Thanks for taking the time to look at this. I'm pretty new to electronics, but this is getting extremely fun. If someone could point me in the right direction on this, it would be very much appreciated. Below is the circuit segment I'm working on now. I have 3 different modes in the BS2.
Solid Lights, Blinking Lights, Photoresistor Controlled (Light Sensitive lights).

The problem I'm having is that I would like to turn the RC portion off within the BS2, but still have functioning LEDs. This would allow for rapid blinking lights or slowly fading while blinking, but not constantly fading because of the position of the Cap.

The question I guess I have is... How can I have multiple circuits controlling the same LEDs, yet isolated from each other? I guess I need some kind of electronic switch action to change which circuit the LEDs are in? What kind of device could be used for this? This is probably newbie as all get out, but it's actually kicking my butt. confused.gif

concentrated.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Post Edited (JohnofWax) : 7/27/2009 12:07:19 AM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-07-27 00:51
    The usual way to control LEDs is to have the LEDs in the collector lead with the 220 Ohm resistor and ground the emitter of the transistor. You wouldn't need C1 in that case and the Stamp would be controlling the LEDs directly. That way, you could have 3 separate routines in the Stamp, one to turn the LEDs on and off, one to blink them at some rate, and the third adjusting the brightness using the PWM statement (see the PWM statement in the help file or Manual).
  • PrettybirdPrettybird Posts: 269
    edited 2009-07-27 00:52