Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Question about reading multiple SHTxx sensors — Parallax Forums

Question about reading multiple SHTxx sensors

LeeWLeeW Posts: 14
edited 2009-08-27 00:00 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

As a student I'm quite new at all of this, but I was curious as to how I would go about reading multiple (2-6) SHTxx Humidity/Temperature sensors.·I understand that you can use one SCK line for all 6 sensors and individual data lines for each, but I'm confused as to how you would handle them going to the BS2. confused.gif

Programming the controller to handle·more than·2 separate sensors seems like it would be too big of a program for just simply memory reasons. I'm betting that it's not possible using PBASIC?

If anyone could point me in the right direction or offer some suggestions and help, it'd be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance! hop.gif

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-07-24 19:54
    You would just connect all the SCK lines from the sensors to one Stamp I/O pin and the data line from each sensor would be connected to a separate I/O pin. I'd suggest having one pulldown resistor (4.7K) from the SCK I/O pin to ground on the Stamp.

If you use successive I/O pins for the data lines, you can easily modify the sample program to read each sensor in turn, one at a time and display the data. The pin number in the I/O statements (like INPUT, LOW, HIGH, SHIFTOUT, and SHIFTIN) can be an expression. For example, if you use I/O pins 1-6 for the six sensors' data lines, you can change all the statements in the sample program and substitute "ShtData+i" for "ShtData" where "i" is a new byte variable. Near the end of the program, you'll have to change "IF (ShtData = 0) THEN EXIT" to "IF (ShtData(i) = 0) THEN EXIT". I'm not sure, but I think that will compile ... try it. You may need to replace the "ShtData PIN 1" with "ShtData CON 1".

Replace the DO / LOOP in the Main section of the program with
    FOR i = 0 to 5
       DO