Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Complete Noob in the Realm of BASIC — Parallax Forums

Complete Noob in the Realm of BASIC

AutoAttenuationAutoAttenuation Posts: 3
edited 2009-07-21 19:59 in BASIC Stamp
I am just starting out with BASIC and have my shiny new BOE and BS2e ready to go. I have a need to set this up for four inputs from DIP switches representing a BCD input and would like to drive a 7 segment display with the appropriate character 0-F based on how the DIPs are toggled. Is there an easier way of doing this than simply running through the 16 input combinations and assigning all seven outputs for each case?

Comments

• Lab RatLab Rat Posts: 289
    edited 2009-07-20 18:54
    to be honest the simplest way does not even incude the stamp
    the simplest method for driving the display is a binary display driver in takes your binary and converts it right into numbers granted it will no do hexadecimal like you are asking about

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Parallax posesses power beyond belief.

Believe in it.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-07-20 19:09
    As with any project like this, you build it up in pieces.

Get your 7 segment display working. The "What's a Microcontroller?" tutorial should have several examples showing how to hook up an LED to a Stamp and get it working. Make sure you can get each LED to light. It's best to use 8 pins in a group (7 segments + decimal point), either P0-P7 or P8-P15. This way you can set all 8 bits of the output register with OUTH or OUTL. Choose the series resistor so you don't draw too much current from the group of pins. I think it's limited to 50mA or 6mA per LED. For red LEDs, that would need a 560 Ohm resistor for each LED (or higher).